Beginning the Year with a SPLASH

Blog - ALS ChallengeThe new school year….I’m always filled with that anxious anticipation, “how’s this year going to go?”. For me, I’m always ALWAYS sleepless the night before and nervous when I stand in front of them. I don’t know why….. They’re generally nice kids, with little possibility of retribution when they’re mad ! šŸ™‚ And I’m generally a nice teacher with little possibility of retribution when they’re driving me crazy!!! šŸ˜‰

So, this year, we quickly broke down any of the nervousness of the school year, and built a smidge of community spirit with our first “homework” assignment. On the first day, I told the students that if they brought a donation for ALS, I’d let them pour a bucket of water on my head. Their interest was piqued, to say the least – with buckets, pails and juice pitchers coming into the classroom the next morning (AND $280.00 as well – woot! woot!).

It was great fun (and cold, definitely cold!) and we were really happy to send that cheque to ALS Canada. The only lingering thought I have is, “don’t some of these kids seem to be REALLY enjoying this…..”.

Leave a Reply

