Enter the COOKIE MONSTER(S!)

I love traditions!  Truly, LOVE them!  They just give me a wonderful feeling of nostalgia and comfort.  Just thinking about traditions makes me want to start up more of them!  For instance, a new tradition could be “homework on weekends” or “handwriting lessons Monday mornings” or even better “gym class in the pouring rain”!  🙂  Okay, okay, I’m willing to admit that not ALL traditions are created equally (or fairly!).  But, I do have two traditions that I love.  One of them is attending the annual Banjo Bowl CFL football game in Winnipeg (Winnipeg Blue Bombers versus the amazing-fabulous Saskatchewan Roughriders!!!  GO GREEN GO!!)  🙂  And, my second tradition is my not-so-subtle attempt to persuade my Grade sevens to cheer for my team (GO GREEN GO!! YAY RIDERS!!).  Being that many arrive in Room 31 with unfair-parental-influenced team allegiances, I’ve got my work cut out for me! 

So…over the years, I’ve finetuned this persuasion by creating a ‘deal’ of sorts.  Before the game, I always promise my students that if – IF – my team wins the Banjo Bowl, I will bring in celebration cookies.  It never fails, no matter what their previous allegiences were; they immedietly begin cheering for the Roughriders!  It’s awesome! 

The only not-so-awesome part….making cookies for 24 hungry Grade 7 students!  Goodbye Saturday afternoon!  🙂  Here’s this year’s cookie recipes.  Apparently, they were a hit with your child (there wasn’t a crumb left!)

Oreo Cookies
For wafers, mix together:
-1 chocolate cake mix
-1/2 cup oil
-2 eggs

Make small balls (size of a large marble). Place on sprayed cookie sheet, bake at 350 for 8 minutes. Allow to cool.
For filling, mix together:
-1 pkg cream cheese (softened)
-2 cups icing sugar
-1 tbsp lemon juice

Pair up wafers by size. Smooth icing between two wafers. Allow 24 hours for wafers to soften (I leave them in the refridgerator). Then, enjoy!

Icebox Chocolate Chip Cookies
In small bowl, combine, but set aside:
-2 cups flour
-1 tsp baking soda
-1 tsp salt

In large bowl, beat in order:
-1 1/2 cup margarine (beat)
-1 cup brown sugar
-1 cup white sugar
-2 eggs
-2 tsp vanilla

Using wooden spon, stir in flour mixture until evenly mixed.
Add:
-3 to 4 cups oatmeal
-1 1/2 cups chocolate chips
-1 1/2 cups chopped pecans

Roll dough into 2.5 cm (1 inch!) balls. Place on sprayed baking sheet and flatten slightly. Bake at 325 for 12 minutes. Cool on rack, then enjoy!

(Cookie monster photo used without his permission!)

Leave a Reply

